World Cup history
 12/12/04 01:10 EST
     William Hill

History > 1962 > Index



1962 World Cup, Chile

The World Cup returned to South America in 1962, with Chile beating Argentina for the right to hold the biggest tournament yet - 52 nations taking part. Despite an earthquake in 1960, the hosts managed to build two world class stadia and professionally discharge their duties as hosts. On the pitch, Chile showed well, getting as far as the semi-finals before coming up against defending Champions Brazil. They lost 4-2, with Garrincha and Vava each scoring twice for Brazil.

Brazil managed to score 14 goals in their six matches at the 1962 finals, not bad considering they had been criticized for fielding ONLY three strikers. These included a cagey opening round goalless draw against Czechoslovakia, the team they were destined to meet again in the final.

The final itself was a more fruitful affair, Brazil winning 3-1. Sadly, at least two of Brazil's goals were scored through lapses by the Czechs' renowned goalkeeper Vilam Schrojf.

1962 Index 

Final Match Report
1962 Hero
1962 Villain

Bet Now! 

All content copyright, images copyright Allsport 2004